Mandatory immunization for children

There is now mandatory immunization for children 5 years old and below.   Under Republic Act No. 10152, which was approved by the President on 21 June 2011, the mandatory basic immunization will cover the following vaccine-preventable diseases:

1.     tuberculosis;

2.    diphtheria, tetanus, and pertussis;

3.    poliomyelitis;

4.   measles;

5.   mumps;

6.  German measles;

7.  hepatitis B;

8.  H influenza type B; and

9.  such other diseases as may be determined by the Secretary of Health in circular.

The immunization will be given for free at any government hospital or health center to infants or children up to five years of age.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s